Making Christ My Master

Fourth Sunday in Advent

Isaiah 7: 10-14, 18, 21-25  Psalm 24: 1-6 Romans 1: 1-7  Matthew 1: 18-24

Paul, a slave of Christ Jesus…

 Romans 1: 1

When you try to figure out what you want to do with your life, do you every consider slavery as an option? You really ought to think about it.  Reflect on the role Jesus has in your day-to-day affairs.  Is he a trusted advisor who comes through with helpful hints now and then?  Is that as close as you’d like to get to him?  How would you like him to be your absolute master?  Try that out as a career goal.  

When I was younger, I used to think that being Christ’s slave would be like being a puppet.  I’d have no need for desires, or interests, or preferences.  I wouldn’t have to use my imagination, or make decisions, or take responsibility for anything.  In those days, I figured that being Christ’s slave might get a little dull, but there were some appealing aspects to the job.  Just the same, though, no matter how hard I prayed I couldn’t get the minute-to-minute instructions that I figured a slave needed.

As I’ve matured in faith I’ve developed different ideas about what this slavery gig is all about.  The master actually has no desire for slaves who say, “Ours is not to reason why.”  There are no job openings for ‘know nothings’.  Slavery to Jesus is the radical conclusion of our determination to make what’s important to him, important to us.  The boss takes the company ‘mission statement’ pretty seriously, so you’d better familiarize yourself with it.

We are the body of Christ, and Jesus wants us to be as subject to him as our bodies are to us; but he doesn’t uses coercive techniques.  Jesus commands us by persuading us to be as passionate about mercy and justice as he is.

Jesus, take every part of me – every action, every thought, every belief.  I want you to use me as your hands.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About captaincatholic

Fifty Eight Year old 'Cradle Catholic'. Married for twenty two years to the magnificent Pam. Father to the unsurpassable Angelique. Parishioner at Sacred Heart Parish in Lexington MA.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. It says right here…. « reflectionsofacatholicchristian - October 24, 2012

Leave a Reply

